GOVERNING BODY RESPONSIBILITIES

Core functions of Governance

- Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
- Holding executive leaders to account for the educational performance of the organisation and its pupils, and the effective and efficient performance management of staff; and
- Overseeing the financial performance of the organisation and making sure its money is well spent.

GOVERNING BODY STRUCTURE

The Governing Body has sole responsibility for the strategic direction of the College, acting as critical friend and being accountable for its decisions.

The Governing body has agreed to have two standing committees:

Quality of Provision (QP) To challenge the College progress on key priorities and outcomes as outlined in the College Development Plan, considering relevant data and reports at regular intervals. To consider curriculum matters and ensure the standards of teaching in the College are at their highest. To oversee behaviour and attendance reports and policies including exclusions.

Finance and Resources (FR) To oversee budget setting and all financial processes within the College, including salaries and performance management outcomes. To ensure health and safety issues are appropriately prioritised and to have an oversight of site issues. All committees report to the full Governing Body three times per year.

To contact any member of the Governing Body or to request copies of non-confidential minutes, please email

ClerktoGovernors@dstc.kent.sch.uk

GOVERNOR/ COMMITTEE	TERM OF OFFICE	APPOINTING COMMITTEE	COMMITTEE	LEAD	DATE APPOINTED	DBS COMPLIANT	GOVERNANCE ROLES IN OTHER EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTIONS	BUSINESS /MATERIAL INTERESTS
Dr David Whatrup CO-OPTED VICE CHAIR	31.8.17-30.8.21 Parent 23.05.24 – 22.05.28 Co-opted	FGB	QP CHAIR FR	Curriculum and Outcomes/ Health and Safety	27.09.13	YES	NO	Partner employed at school
Matt Watts CO-OPTED	11.5.20-10.5.24	FGB	FR	Health and Safety	11.5.20	YES	NO	NO
Mr Andrew Taylor CO-OPTED VICE CHAIR	9.3.23-8.3.27	FGB	FR QP	Careers/ training	22.3.07	YES	NO	NO
Mrs Barbara Johnstone CO-OPTED	12.12.19- 1.9.27	FGB	QP Vice Chair	SEND/ Curriculum and Outcomes	12.12.19	YES	NO	NO
Mr Christopher Adeyeri CO-OPTED	9.3.23- 8.3.27	FGB	FR	Post 16	9.3.23	YES	NO	NO
Mrs Jessica Jones PARENT	9.12.21-8.12.25	PARENT	QP	Behaviour, Attitudes and Attendance	9.12.21	YES	NO	NO

Ms Sarah Dobinson PARENT	19.5.22 – 18.5.26	PARENT	QP	Safeguarding	19.5.22	YES	NO	NO
Mr Les Gunasekara FOUNDATION	21.02.204 – 20.02.28	TRUST	FR CHAIR	Finance and IT	5.3.20	YES	NO	Managing Director LDG consultancy Ltd and L&A Autos.
Mr Nicholas Bungard FOUNDATION	19.5.22 – 18.5.26	TRUST	FR Vice Chair	Post 16	19.5.22	YES	NO	NO
Mr Geoffrey Prout LOCAL AUTHORITY GOVERNOR CHAIR of GOVERNORS	13.05.24 – 12.05.28	LA	FR/QP	Leadership and Management / Behaviour, Attitudes and Attendance/ Pupil Premium	28.6.16	YES	NO	NO
Miss Joanne Sangster STAFF	1.9.23-	Principal	FR/QP	N/A	1.9.23	YES	NO	NO
Mr Cormac Dorrian Staff Governor	14.6.21- 13.6.25	STAFF BALLOT	QP	Personal Development and Wellbeing	14.6.21	YES	NO	NO

Dartford Science & Technology College Attendance

Y = Attended, N = Apologies Accepted, NA = Apologies not Accepted, NS = No Apologies sent, ? = Attendance Not Marked, Blank = Not Required, CA = Consent for absence, - = Not applicable

		Full Governing Board	Quality of Provision	FR	FGB	Quality of Provision	Finances & Resources	FGB	Finances & Resources	QP	FGB
Governor	Governor Type	22 Sep 2022	06 Oct 2022	11 Oct 2022	08 Dec 2022	02 Feb 2023	07 Feb 2023	09 Mar 2023	23 May 2023	15 Jun 2023	06 Jul 2023
Christopher Adeyeri	Co-opted governor								Y		N
Ricky Archer	Associate Member	Y	Υ		N	Υ		Υ		Υ	Υ
Nicholas Bungard	Foundation governor	Y		Υ	Υ		Υ	Υ	Υ		Υ
Mrs Anne Davis		Y		Υ	Υ			Υ			
Miss Sarah Dobinson	Parent governor	Y	Υ		Υ	Y		N		N	Υ
Joanna Donegan-Edwards	Associate Member										Υ
Mr Cormac Dorrian	Staff governor	Y	Υ		Υ	N		Υ		Υ	N
Mrs Deborah Ellis	Associate Member	Y	N		Υ	N		Y		N	Υ
Mr Les Gunasekara	Foundation governor	Y		Υ	Υ		Υ	Υ	Υ		N

Mrs Barbara Johnstone	Co-opted governor	Y	Υ		Υ	Υ		Y		N	Y
Mrs Jessica Jones	Parent governor	Y	N		N	NS		NS		N	Y
Ms Lesley McIntosh	Associate Member			Υ			Υ		Υ		
Mr Geoffrey Prout	Local Authority Governor	Y	N	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y	Y
Adrienne Robson	Associate Member			Y			Υ		Y		
Mr Andrew Taylor	Co-opted governor	Y	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	Υ	N	Y	Υ	Υ
Mr Matt Watts	Co-opted governor	Y		N	N		N	N	N		Y
Dr David Whatrup	Co-opted governor	Y	Y	Y	Υ	Y	N	Y	Y	Υ	Y
Carley Williams	Observer		Y		Υ		Υ	Y	Y	Υ	Y